Parent’s Handbook

iasd-logo3

East Pike PTA

Parent’s Handbook

2013 – 2014 edition

East Pike School:   724-463-8567

 


 


Committee Descriptions
:


Back to School Picnic

August 15, 2013                 Committee Chairs:  Laura McLaine & Kristi Clark

(2 weeks before school starts) – Responsible for planning picnic at Blue Spruce Park.  Committee members responsible for planning menu items, set-up and clean-up, as well as finding activities or games for the event.


Grandparents’ and Veterans’ Day

November 7, 2013

(November) –Coordinate with Refreshment Committee to provide muffins/breads and coffee at beginning of the day for adults.  School provides program.  Well attended by parents, grandparents & veterans.


Garden Group

Committee Chair:  Barb Hauge

(All Year) – Work with Principal and Janitorial Staff to help maintain the garden around the pond area; discuss and plant replacements. Permitted to water.  Meets every Thursday from 10-11:30am in the outside Native Plant Garden.


Fundraising

#1–Fall Fundraising Market Day Brochure Sales:Sept. 4th  – Sept. 25th**

Committee Chair:  Kristi Clark

#2 – Fitness For A Cause:April 25th     Committee Chair:  Laura McLaine

#3—Market Day—frozen food sold monthly.10% proceeds of each sale plus bonus month items

Committee Chairs:  Kristi Clark & Laura McLaine

(Fall) – **Responsible for selecting fundraising company in the spring of the previous school year with PTA Executive Board approval.  Fall responsibilities include the distribution of fundraising materials, collecting orders, and distributing items sold and keeping records throughout the entire process.The fundraiser provides the major revenue stream for the PTA budget.  We encourage all families to participate.

#4 — Bon Ton Community Days — $5 proceeds from each coupon book sold.

Committee Chair:  Laura McLaine



Reflections

Projects due October 17, 2013/Awards Ceremony March 12, 2014          Committee Chair:  Laura McLaine

(Contest in Fall & Awards in Winter) – A contest sponsored by the National PTA, optional for each elementary student but strongly encouraged.  Committee is in charge of sending out flyer with theme of contest (provided), collecting all entries, organizing categories, finding judges, and ordering and presenting awards at the March Reflections Ceremony.


Book Fair

March 10 – March 13, 2014          Committee Chairs:  Andrea Neiderhiser & Cindy Lee

(March) This group will schedule and set up the book fair and provide adults to assist children in purchases  .Any funds raised are donated to the East Pike Library.


Refunding

Committee Chair:  Patti Sands

Campbell’s Labels for Education, Box Tops, Martin’s, Giant Eagle, Tyson A+ and Coke Rewards. Responsible for collecting, cutting and totaling labels and registrations for Giant Eagle and Martin’s refunding programs will be redeemed for cash refunds or educational school items sent for by the PTA.


Yearbook

Committee Chair:  Krista Grattan

(All year) – This committee is responsible for taking or collecting pictures/memorabilia of the class activities throughout the year and then organizing this and the other memorabilia into a book for the school.  Responsible for obtaining a printer to publish the book.


Membership

Committee Chair:  Laura McLaine

(Fall) – Responsible for developing our membership campaign, collecting dues and issuing membership cards.  Must come up with and coordinate theme, keep updated tallies, file timely reports to state office and market our goal through the fall semester.


Holiday Workshop

12/2-12/6/2013                                   Committee Chair:  Kristi Clark

(December) – This is NOT a PTA fundraiser, but a fun and educational holiday purchasing experience for all of the students who wish to participate  .Committee is responsible for ordering gifts, overseeing set-up, selling and wrapping gifts available for purchase by the school student for family members.  This is as fun for the parents as the children.


Father / Daughter Banquet:

February 13, 2014          Committee Chair:  Kristi Clark

This committee is responsible for planning and serving dinner, providing entertainment for the evening and cleaning up.


Mother / Son Banquet:

February 27, 2014            Committee Chair:  Kristi Clark

This committee is responsible for planning and serving dinner, providing entertainment for the evening, and clean-up.


Academic Fair:

March 6, 2014          Committee Chair:  Laura McLaine

Spring event.   Work with teachers and distribute and collect applications, arrange with custodians to set up tables for displays sized as needed.  Plan hospitality drinks and refreshments for the judges.


Red and Black Games:

May 16, 2014

(May) – This group will be responsible for assisting the physical education teacher, Mrs. Jack, in various capacities including working game stations.  This is a day of fun.

Teacher Coordinator:  Mrs. Leanne Jack


Staff Recognition

May 6, 2014          Committee Chair:  Cindy Lee

Soup & Salad Bar

10:30 a.m. to 2:15 p.m. (set up/serve/clean up)

Chooses a theme, plans and serves lunches for the entire staff in appreciation for all their work with the children.


Refreshments

Committee Chair:  Beth Kobak

(All year) – Responsible for contributing cookies and/or other baked goods/refreshments for programs when called upon throughout the year.  Organizes and coordinates refreshments for various PTA functions when needed.


Fifth Grade Activity

Committee Chair:  Sara Rutledge
(May/June) – Volunteers should be parents of 5th grade students who will help plan an activity, organize awards for the students and oversee the affair.


Refunding 101:

A big part of the East Pike PTA budget is our refunding program.

Grocery Stores:

Martin’s & Giant Eagle programs.  You have to sign up at the service desks/online at each store EACH year.  You will continue to receive your bonus or reward points personally too  .www.martinsfoods.com (Bonus Card Center Link) and/or www.gianteagle.com and search for Apples for the Students to sign up.

Coke Rewards: Create an account at www.mycokerewards.com, enter your codes online, and then donate your points to East Pike Elementary.

Campbell’s Labels for Education:We collect the label with the UPC code and the Labels for Education logo  .Please cut out & trim the UPC & Labels for Education logo, so we can glue those on the appropriate refunding papers. You can submit bonus certificates, pages to paste on labels for bonus sheets.  We get points to purchase educational materials for use on many committees.  For more information and to sign up for extra bonuses for our school visit the website.www.labelsfor education.com

Box Tops:Cut out on dotted line.  We receive MONEY from Box Tops  .Found on a large variety of items. Please cut and trim on dotted line—even if they’re tiny.  Go to www.BoxTops4Education.com to find a complete list.  There are also bonus offers/points on their website.

Tyson A+  Available on chicken products sold by Tyson Foods such as frozen nuggets, chicken breasts, etc. Go online for more information  www.tyson.com/projectsaplus/

Teachers & Staff


Principal

Donald Springer

dspringer@iasd.cc

Secretary

Sherry Bradley

sbradley@iasd.cc

Pre K

Kindergarten

Mrs. Dragich

Mrs. Snyder

ddragich@iasd.cc

esnyder@iasd.cc

Mrs. Curry

ccurry@iasd.cc

Mrs. Rosendale

arosendale@iasd.cc

First grade

Mrs. Bailey

bbailey@iasd.cc

Mrs. Edmonds

hedmonds@iasd.cc

Mrs. Reed

kmreed@iasd.cc

Second grade

Mrs. Martel

hmartel@iasd.cc

Mrs. Patterson

dpatterson@iasd.cc

Mrs. Soukup

psoukup@iasd.cc

Third grade

Mrs. McKee

nmckee@iasd.cc

Mrs. Hawk

jbleggi@iasd.cc

Mrs. Higbee

hhigbee@iasd.cc

Fourth grade

Mrs. Bell

bbell@iasd.cc

Mr. Whited

zwhited@iasd.cc

Mrs. Jones

hcolgan@iasd.cc

Fifth grade

Mr. Morrow

mmorrow@iasd.cc

Mr. Helsel

bhelsel@iasd.cc

 


Art

Mr. Murray

hmurray@iasd.cc

Enrichment Support

 Mrs. Stewart  lstewart@iasd.cc

Guidance

Mrs. Lychalk

nlychalk@iasd.cc

ESL

Mrs. Murphy

bmusphy@iasd.cc

Educational Support

Mrs. Brown

sbrown@iasd.cc

Mrs. Moreau

wmoreau@iasd.cc

Ms. Guitierrez

kguitierrez@iasd.cc

Library

Mrs. Nath

gnath@iasd.cc

Music

Mr. Kemerer

skemerer@iasd.cc

Mrs. Sasala

dsasala@iasd.cc

Nurse

Mrs. Mauk

bmauk@iasd.cc

Physical Education

Mrs. Jack

ljack@iasd.cc

Speech Ms. Moore jmoore@iasd.cc

Title I                                        Mrs. Rupert                        mrupert@iasd.cc
                                                 Mrs. Livingston                   klivingston@iasd.cc